autumn equinox

Just lit a candle for my dad, he would’ve turned 77 today.

Feels like half a lifetime ago since we last spoke, yet it’s only been a little over three years.

Feels like it was yesterday I was irritated with him checking up on me all the time, yet it’s almost four years since I last saw his number blinking on my phone.

I go about my business without thinking of him much nowadays. But today he’s on my mind. Today I miss him.

Puss puss pappa, jag tycker så mycket om dig.

3 comments

  1. “ ‘There is no death, daughter. People die only when we forget them’, my mother explained shortly before she left me. ‘If you can remember me, I will be with you always’.”
    Isabel Allende, “Eva Luna”.
    That is the same I feel about my mamma. I make a point of remembering her every day, even if just for a second.

    1. true.. you know, mikko, your mother would be very proud of you.

      1. Thank you Chia, that’s very kind!!

Leave a Reply

