so many books, so little time

Hello, my name is Chia and I’m a bookaholic. A crazy book lady…

I’ve read somewhere that the average person reads five books a year. Five!! A YEAR! Oh, pardon me. I forgot I’m trying to be less judgemental these days. But seriously. Five?

I came home from London with three new books, and can’t really decide which one to start off with. I did turn a few pages in Do it! or Ditch it!, but immediately felt a sting of restlessness. I realised I probably should finish at least one of the books I’m currently reading before picking up a new one. Somehow I thought I had two or three going on simultaneously. Then I started counting them. Huga.

I know a lot of my followers here on WordPress are book worms just like me, so I thought I’d start the week off by telling you what I’m reading, as a few of these books are really recommendable. If you’re not at all interested in books (i.e. if you read five or less a year…), you can go make yourself a sandwich instead of reading the rest of the post.

book

But for the rest of you, here we go…

Andrew Crofts: The Freelance Writer’s Handbook. Remember my little “coming out” last week? Academic at heart as I am, I can’t just jump into a new career without studying it first… Seems to be a good book with loads of information on how to start off, and how to keep your spirits high when you hit that famous writer’s block.

Karen Kingston: Rensa i röran med feng shui. Borrowed this from my mum, hence the Swedish title. The original, by now classic in its genre, is called Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui, and as the title says, it’s all about understanding what clutter is and how it effects your energy and your life in general. The reason I haven’t finished it yet is simply because I get this enormous urge to clean a cupboard or closet every time I continue reading it, and I simply haven’t had time for that recently….

Kajsa Ingemarsson: Den magiska gnistan. This one is in Swedish too, same reason as the Kingston book. My mother got it last time she was in Stockholm, and said I really should read it. I’m going beyond that, stating everyone should read it. Ingemarsson speaks about creativity and inspiration, but in a little more profound way than many others. Carefully, but resolutely, she combines it with intuition and your life path, stating the obvious; you are the sole creator of your reality. That said, I’d like to point out that it’s not a new age book, so don’t let that thought scare you off.

Kate Mosse: Citadel. Started reading it before I went to London. Can’t remember what it’s about, other than I really liked the last Mosse book I read, so hoping it will improve in the next 100 pages or so. Otherwise it might end up behind the next book…

Gregory David Roberts: Shantaram. A classic. A terrific book. However, I can’t seem to focus enough to finish it. I pick it up every now and then, always a rainy dark night it seems, read about a hundred pages, and put it back where I found it. These dark rainy nights when I read it seem to come about a year a part, and since it has over 900 pages, I think I’m good to go for another five or so years… But it is good, I do recommend it. It has a wonderful philosophy to it, with quotes that speak straight to your soul.

Anna McPartlin: The One I Love. Basically a ten a penny romance novel, started reading it a month ago, decided to leave it for next time I fly (alone) somewhere.

Malcolm Gladwell: The Tipping Point. Read most of it in January, then I forgot I even had it. Got another book (Blink) by the same author last week, and that’s when I remembered I didn’t finish the last.. Gladwell has become a global phenomenon, with his books you can always expect the unexpected. He is criticized as much as praised, and I guess you should take all he says with a grain of salt, but nevertheless, I like his ruminations on how small things make a huge difference (The Tipping Point), and how professional success is mostly about hard work (Outliers).

As you see, I’m a versatile reader, so feel free to give me tips and ideas on what to read next. You can also add me on Goodreads and share thoughts with me there.

Happy reading!

2 comments

  1. Hei!… Been following you for a while, we exchanged mails a couple of times on LinkedIn. Anyway, just wanted to say, I love Shantaram- you should definitely try and finish it. It’s a hefty book but well worth it!

    1. Hey Claire,
      Good to hear from you! I will try my utmost to finish it this autumn, I’ll let you know when I have 🙂

Leave a Reply

