waiting for superman?

She says, “Yeah, he’s still coming, just a little bit late
He got stuck at the laundromat washing his cape”

daughtry, one of my favourite artists, is releasing a new album tomorrow. the first single, waiting for superman, has been playing in my head for a few months already, it just seems to get better each time i listen to it. just happened to stumble upon the video, which i hadn’t seen before, and it occurred to me that this song has a deeper meaning to it than i had realised.

the song is not about a helpless woman waiting for a man in tights, the song is about how each and everyone of us can be a hero, if we only remember the morals of superman: it’s not the powers he has, but what he does with them that makes him good.

however. being kind in today’s society is difficult. so many good deeds are criticized, even punished, and people often seem to let the thought “what’s in it for me?” be in the driver’s seat.

you want to know a little secret? the answer to that question is everything. as the saying goes; no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.

let yourself be inspired, by daughtry or by this poster, and do one random act of kindness this week, without expecting anything in return. i promise it’ll be worth it.

kindness-pass-it-on

6 comments

  1. PaulGardinerLP · · Reply

    Hi there, I just wanted to say that I like your alternative take on the meaning of “Waiting for Superman”. When I listened to it for the first time recently I thought what you originally thought. That a woman is waiting for her “superman” that never comes; but she makes excuses for him and remains positive that he will. I thought it could be a message that maybe there is no such thing as a perfect person. You’re interpretation however, has a more positive spin on it! I recently wrote a review on the ‘Baptized’ album and would be thrilled if you would give it a read (audiobreakdown.wordpress.com). Paul.

    1. Hi Paul, thank you for your comment! I think you’re absolutely right; there is no such thing as a perfect person. But in that one statement, lies great power. If no-one is perfect, everyone has an equal chance to be the best person they can be.

  2. PaulGardinerLP · · Reply

    “No one is perfect but, everyone has an equal chance to be the best person they can be” – Chia

    What a great quote! You should use this more often!

    1. Thank you! I often don’t even realise myself what I’ve just said (written) until someone points it out… 🙂

      1. PaulGardinerLP · ·

        Then I’m glad I pointed it out to you! 😀

  3. I see a lot of interesting articles on your page.

    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of
    work, there is a tool that creates high quality, SEO friendly articles in couple of seconds, just search in google – k2 unlimited content

Leave a Reply

