Encore: A Love Named Gaina

Day two of my four days stay-at-home and do stuff you need to do – regime. Going quite well, if I may say so myself. I sleep half the day, and sit by my computer half the night instead. Seeing as we have about five hours of greyness (known as daytime, or so I’ve been told), it doesn’t really matter when you get things done…

Dreamt about my dear dog last night. Just realised it’s five years since we last saw each other. Read the post I wrote about her a few years back, and felt a silent tear roll down. That’s one animal I will miss for the rest of my life.

She shows up in my dreams ever and anon, often when I’m in an “I need a hug”-state of mind, for reason or another. Most of the times, in those dreams, I will suddenly realise she’s young and well again, all black around the muzzle, and with teeth still sharp. Sometimes it feels like a blessing to understand it, to get a short “second chance” to keep her close once more. Sometimes it’s a curse, knowing she will have to leave soon again.

But these dreams always serve as some sort of reminder for me. A reminder that you should always try to be the person your dog thinks you are.

WP_20140104_002

Leave a Reply

