Let’s Go Fly a Kite, Up to the Highest Height

My back took a turn for the worse yesterday. After having sat down for an hour in the morning, I was suddenly all crooked and couldn’t really move. Endured the day standing up (thank you M for arranging an adjustable table to your room back in 2008…) and spent the night lying on the floor. More or less at least. Took a double dose of the French medication before hitting the sack. Got up and opened the window an hour later when I realised the reason for me not falling asleep is that these pills make me experience hot flashes…

When finally getting out of bed about an hour late this morning, I came to the conclusion I’m high as a kite. As the good employee that I am, I still felt I needed to go to work and managed to get myself into some sort of representable outfit and make-up. My hair wasn’t cooperating so spent another 15 minutes of my morning trying to tame it with my flat iron.

Putting on my winter coat, I managed to break the zip. Heard myself saying “Helvete, one of those days, ey?”. Picked up one of my black boots. AND MANAGED TO BREAK THE ZIP. I’ll leave it up to your imagination what came out of my mouth next.

Stumbled into the university still only an hour late, and went straight up to the reception desk where our Head of IT was standing. By chance he happened to have some sort of pliers on him so at least I was able to get out of my damned coat. Thank you, K.

How my back will feel once the meds start wearing off I have no idea, but until then I’ll just sit here, hoping no-one will ask too much of me today…

What better against pain than laugh though, which is why I want to share this random picture of a random cat doing a random act of.. well, perhaps not kindness, but… umm.. randomness?

Happy Friday, people.

20140206-224345.jpg

4 comments

  1. Anonymous · · Reply

    Looks like you and the boot… 😀

    1. Haha, pretty much… 😀

  2. Anonymous · · Reply

    Hope your back is, well, back ? Lessons learned: a nose heater and a set of pliers can save your day;-)

    1. Well, went back to mum and she made back well..er. Or something 😄 Must consult my nose heater before taking back back to work tomorrow, good idea. Pliers were however only a temporary solution, damned zip broke again yesterday. Probably a sign I should quit hibernation and resume plan ‘get-the-hell-out-of-this-godforsaken-country’….

Leave a Reply

