Dreaming of a Good Night’s Sleep…

Last summer I suffered from headaches almost every day. I didn’t even at first notice it was daily, until I heard myself complaining to my sister-in-law. The fourth time in a week.

A few days later, I told my brother I think I need to get rid of a wisdom tooth or two, as I believed that was the reason for my headaches. My brother said something very simple, yet profound; “If that’s what you’ve come to, you’re probably right”. Both of us laughed at the sort of precocious statement, but as he tried explaining what he meant, I interrupted by saying I understand completely.

That same sassy sentence came to me suddenly today after having written that short post on me thinking my futon is bad for me. Truth be told, the thought has actually crossed my mind before, but I have not said it out loud, like I did last week on two different occasions.

You know how it is. As long as you keep it out of broad daylight, it stays unconfirmed.

The thing is, I keep doing all those exercises assigned to me by the torturer. And they do help. For that very moment. But it seems all the effort I keep putting in is simply erased when I go to bed. The next morning I will wake up feeling 85 again, ungracefully trying to get out of bed.

Interestingly enough, last year, which I spent more or less everywhere but in Helsinki, my back was feeling much better. Well, at least most of the time. A really soft bed will be even worse. Which is why I got the futon in the first place. But there’s a huge difference between a somewhat firm mattress and a rock-hard futon. It only took me five years to reach this conclusion. Hurrah!

And now, realising I’m probably right, I need to get a new bed. And sell this one. Anyone in need of a futon? They are supposedly good for you…

20140303-205303.jpg

5 comments

  1. 2 things to consider, are you doing any exercise? are you taking a probiotic?

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    1. Dear spammer,

      I’m not sure what probiotics have to do with chronic back pain due to mechanical issues and a rock-hard futon…

      Kind regards,
      please for once read the actual text before commenting

      1. Probiotics take care of food digestion and nutrient absortion. If you have not hydrating and getting caclium and nutrients from veggies to the bones it leads to swelling. Also a high grain intake, take a look at Dr. William Davis’ book Wheat Belly.

        The hydration allows for the cartilage to cushion the vertebrae and the nutrients increase blood flow lowering inflammation and tightness in the muscles.

        Exercising increases blood flow to remove the lactic acid build up that leads to tightness and stretches the muscles to allow greater range of movement so you don’t get tight laying on the futon.

        I did read your entire post and thought I could help from a different approach. Hope that it can benefit you. Have a blessed day.

        Regards,
        Clifford Mitchem
        Advocare Distributor
        Nutrition + Fitness = Health
        http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

      2. Thank you, I stand corrected 🙂

        There’s a lot of daily spam, looking very much like your initial comment, hence my somewhat irritated reply, which I apologise for.

        All approaches are indeed worth looking into, thank you.

        Cheers!

      3. I understand, I should have been more specific. Online marketing is something I do and it is common that people think that because of my signature.

        If I don’t put it though, people don’t think I know what I am talking about. I hope that I did not come across offensively.

        Diet does play a more important role than people think. Check out this video on that book I mentioned. It touches on the inflammation aspect, but more importantly how bread and grains impact us overall.

        Not selling anything. My goal is to get people to eat better in general. BUT if you do want some info on what to get to address the problem just let me know 🙂

        Have a blessed day,
        Clifford

Leave a Reply

