Birthday vs. Monday

It was a battle of giants.

Monday won the first round when the alarm sounded. I don’t think one should have to work when enjoying one’s birthday. But then my mother called and sang for me so that made it 1-1.

When arriving at work, I found a bottle of bubbly from my boss – obviously Birthday got in the lead.

That was until Monday decided to strike.

Here I was, casually writing an unpleasant email telling some students they are unfortunately not accepted to a course, due to strict pre-requisites. I was supposed to send it to about 10-12 people. I managed to send it to 28. The next few hours I had to deal with about 15 angry students on top of the usual boo-hoo people. The course instructor sent me a simple LOL, this is definitely not bday material! (Well put, Suvi, well put…)

Monday had clearly taken the forefront, felt like 10-2.

But as the sunny day went on, it got better. Received a lot of lovely messages from near and far. A friend from Denmark said the sunny weather was a because I had been a good girl during the year gone by; another one from Switzerland (eh, Portugal..) thought it was a sure sign of a fantastic year to come. Either way, thank you both. Happy the whole of Europe got to enjoy my wonderful birthday weather.

The former assistant called me “even more vintage now”, and my standing wingman addressed me as old hag. Got me laughing out loud… By the time a friend from Sweden called to sing for me, it was a tie. (I never knew you could sing! What else do you do, except sing and write rhymes?)

Not really having made any plans for the evening, I decided to just turn off all electronics, buy me some chocolate and cheesy crisps (don’t think I’ve bought cheesy crisps in at least ten years!), and go see 12 Years A Slave. Some of you might think this a very odd choice, but what better day to get a reminder of how good a life you have. All the petty problems of our everyday lives are nothing more than drops in a wast ocean. We might not have it all, but we have enough. Gratitude. Something we all should express more often.

When I got home, I felt ready to tie the brazilet I had gotten from a friend. She gave me one four years ago, and it’s still around my wrist.. Some of the wishes I made back then are apparently not ready to come true yet, now it remains to be seen what will happen with the new ones. Whatever the outcome, it’s the thought that counts, and I am grateful for both the gift in itself and the fact I don’t have to wish for a better life.

That said. No use in trying to guess my wishes – not the old nor the new. And no, I will not reveal them to you. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: don’t think you know me just because you read my blog. I always tell the truth (however unlikely stories I sometimes have up my sleeve), but not all truths need to be told. There are more to me than meets the eye. What hides behind my smile is something only a few truly get, and that is just the way it’s supposed to be.

In the end, Birthday kicked Monday’s sweet behind. (Even though I didn’t get to spend my bday in Paris this year…)

Thank you all for your kind wishes, I’m genuinely blessed to have you in my life. (Somewhere along the line, I must’ve done something right.)

And if you haven’t seen 12 Years A Slave yet, do it.

balloons-eiffel-tower-vintage-Favim.com-517842

featured image by twiggs’ photography, post image by The Le Trip Blog

Leave a Reply

