Should I Call Spin Doctors or Ghostbusters?

A while back I told you about my washing machine. The dear old hag that was starting to go senile. Well. Yesterday she died. And/or killed a fuse. I’m not sure which yet.

She had been going on with a normal programme for well over 2,5 hours. When she sounded done, I went there to take out my clothes only to unleash about three litres of water all over my bathroom floor. I told her a few well-chosen words, closed the hatch again and put on a spinning programme.

Went back to the telly where I was trying to perform CPR on my digi-box (which had died under cloudy circumstances only 15 minutes before – I truly enjoyed my Tuesday night) and heard the machine starting to spin. It sounded like a jet motor was taking off. Until it didn’t. Until a soft “thump” was heard and then… nothing. Silence. The kind of silence that creeps you out. The kind that makes you tiptoe just in case…

Warily, I approached the silence and pressed a button or two. Dead. Completely, utterly dead. I sighed before mustering up enough energy to mumble a few more of those well-chosen words, telling the machine I need those clothes for Paris in two days. To my sheer surprise, it opened the hatch with a click. After that we stayed silent. Both of us.

This morning my flattening iron refused to work, which got me suspecting a fuse getting killed. Only thing is that I couldn’t for the life of me see a broken fuse. Have to take care of that later tonight.

And after Easter I will have to start looking for a new washing machine. Even if it was “just a fuse” this time, this insane behaviour has been going on long enough now.

So, now I need your help. I’ve had my sweet UPO for 13 years, I have no idea what to replace it with. Please share if you have recently bought a washing machine, let me know what brand, from where, and what your thoughts are.

Thank you!

Perhaps newer ideas....

Perhaps newer ideas though….

4 comments

  1. My dear, just had the same problem with our dishwasher – but without i can easily survive…concerning washing machine buy quality:
    http://www.waschmaschinen-test.eu/ a washingmachine from Bosch or Miele etc will last you for about 20 years….:-) so sweet Ranja is sleeping on my lap while i m writing this 😉

    1. Thanks for the link, will check it out properly when I have the time 🙂 Found a similar Dutch site when I was looking for a vacuum cleaner, it seems Duchies and Germans are more thorough when buying home electronics than Nordics are…

  2. Claire · · Reply

    Just don’t get the cheapest. I love my top-loading whirlpool (I would give you the model no but I’m not home), it has a billion settings most of which are customizable by temp and how much spin, half of which I don’t use but I like choice. Get something with as good an energy rating as possible and try and get something in the mid-range. You’ll only get what you pay for if you go cheap. Ours cost a bomb (about 500e) when we got it 5 yrs ago and has eaten only a couple of tops, a pair of boxers and the odd sock – but that’s more to do with the fact that I either over-filled it or didn’t use a laundry bag for flimsy stuff. I also love toploaders due to the fact that you can’t get a bathtubs worth of water all over the floor if it somehow fails 🙂

    1. Right with you on that, never get the cheapest 🙂 Whirlpool is a brand I have been thinking about actually.
      But on the other issue, I will have to disagree 🙂 I prefer side-loading.. I have a quite small bathroom and need the extra surface, and with this back it’s easier to load from the side as I can, if needed, sit down in front of it instead of bend over to try and locate the last sock.
      (Speaking of disappearing socks etc, Cecelia Ahern has written a book called “A Place Called Here”; Here is simply the place where things – and people – go when they go missing from this world. It’s a rather amusing book for a day at the beach or similar. Nowadays when I misplace something I will always think that I’ll get it back when the people in Here don’t need it anymore 😀 )

Leave a Reply

